CONFERS Technical Committee

CONFERS Committees and Task Forces

CONFERS activities are planned and executed by volunteer members serving on three Committees and through Task Forces formed as needed.

Participation on Committees and Task Forces by CONFERS members is strongly encouraged, and is a significant benefit to membership.  There is no limit to the number of individuals that a CONFERS member company may have serving on one or more Committees or Task Forces.  Individuals interested in sharing their expertise on a Committee or Task Force should email [email protected] to be added to their preferred group(s).

Technology Committee: is responsible for advancing technical development of CONFERS best practices and standards, as well as maintaining and building the CONFERS Lexicon and terminology.

Co-chairs: Ron Birk, The Aerospace Corporation; Stephen Leete, Northrup Grumman

Meeting frequency: every second Wednesday of the month from 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM ET.

CONFERS Technical Committee contributed to multiple standards related to satellite servicing:

The following Technical Committee Task Forces are presenting engaged:

  • Cryogenic Fluid Transfer Task Force: developing recommendations for on-orbit cryogenic refueling standards.

Chair:  Dallas Bienhoff, Off-World, Inc.

Meeting frequency: occurs every second Monday of the month from 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM ET.

  • Power and Data Task Force: developing recommendations for space data system standards.

Chair:  Victor Nifo, MDA

Meeting frequency: occurs every other Thursday from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM ET.

  • On-Orbit Servicing Communications Task Force: developing recommendations for on-orbit satellite- to-satellite servicing communications.

Chair:  Jeffrey Osbourne, AnySignal, Inc.

Meeting frequency: new meeting cadence to be announced soon.