Brian Weeden

Brian Weeden

Systems Director, Policy and Regulatory Team Lead, Center for Space Policy and Strategy, The Aerospace Corporation

Dr. Brian Weeden is a systems director for the Center for Space Policy and Strategy at The Aerospace Corporation, where he serves as a senior analyst and team leader on topics that cut across policy, technology, and economics. A highly respected and connected professional with more than two decades of experience in space operations and space policy analysis, Weeden specializes in the integration and advancement of technical, policy, legal, security, commercial, and international aspects of space activities.

Weeden is a former member and chair of the World Economic Forum’s Council on the Future of Space Technologies, a former member of the Advisory Committee on Commercial Remote Sensing (ACCRES) to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the former executive director of the Consortium for Execution of Rendezvous and Servicing Operations (CONFERS).

Prior to joining Aerospace, Weeden was the chief program officer for Secure World Foundation, where he directed strategic planning for future-year projects to meet the Foundation’s goals and objectives and conducted research on space sustainability issues. Weeden also served nine years on active duty as an officer in the United States Air Force in space and intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) operations.

Weeden’s research and analysis have been featured in The New York Times, The Washington Post, National Public Radio, USA Today, The BBC, Fox News, China Radio International, The Economist, the 54th Annual Meeting of The World Economic Forum in Davos-Klosters, Switzerland, academic journals, presentations to the United Nations, and testimony before the U.S. Congress.

Weeden earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Clarkson University, a master’s degree in space studies from the University of North Dakota, and a doctorate in public policy and administration from The George Washington University in the field of science and technology policy.

Back to Board of Directors